Boise State MET Program

Hi there 🙂  I’m Shannon Johnson and I’m from Mercersburg, PA.  I am married to my best friend, Carl and we have 4 children.  Dakota (14), Carlee (9), Kyle (4), and Ryan (1).

You will see some posts below this introduction from another class.  I had the opportunity to take 2 graduate level educational technology courses at Penn State during my final semester of my undergraduate program last semester.  The posts are my reflections to the Emerging Web 2.0 Technologies and Learning course.  I graduated from Penn State with a 3.5 gpa and a BA in Labor Studies and Employee Relations with a concentration in Human Resources.  I also earned an undergraduate certificate in IST.  If you’re interested in my coursework there are two tabs at the top of the page one for Undergraduate Coursework and one for Graduate Coursework.  I tried to link to as much as I could when creating my blog.

I’ve always been interested in technology.  I started out at Penn State majoring in IST with the intention of becoming a web designer.  However, residing in a rural area, I was worried about long-term employment outlooks for designers here.  I was working as a HR Coordinator at JLG Industries, Inc., a global manufacturer of access equipment and I enjoyed HR work well enough so I switched my major to LER so I could pursue advancement in my position.  However, I still took as many technology courses as I could and I was beginning to really get interested in distance education.  As a distance education student and as someone that worked with employees to help them find programs for themselves as the tuition reimbursement coordinator.

I took a few years off from the working world while finishing my degree program and did some long thinking about where I really did want to head.  I wanted to combine my interest in distance education, people, and technology.  When looking for careers that combined my interests I stumbled across Instructional Design/Instructional Technology programs.  In looking for online programs for those I found rave reviews for the MET program at Boise State.  I decided to check it out.  It turns out the program was exactly what I was looking for.  A hands on program that would allow me to create a finished portfolio that I could show to prospective employers when I was ready to pursue a new direction and world-class professors.  It was a win-win.

I just started a new position as a HR Administrator at Wilson College in Chambersburg, PA.  It is a great atmosphere with a lot of opportunity for me to come up with some great projects for classes so I’m excited about the position as well as the opportunities for great learning experiences within the MET Program!

One thought on “Boise State MET Program

Leave a Reply

